Cape Peninsula University Of Technology Departments

Cape Peninsula University Of Technology Departments


The Faculty of Informatics and Design is divided into a number of Departments of specialisation:

Architectural Technology


Film and Video Technology

Graphic Design

Industrial Design

Information Technology

Interior Design

Jewellery Design



Public Relations Management

Scholarship and Professional Practice

Surface Design

Town and Regional Planning

The Faculty of Health and Wellness Sciences is divided into seven departments – each with their own unique field of study.

These departments are:

  • Biomedical Sciences
  • Dental Sciences
  • Emergency Medical Sciences
  • Medical Imaging and Therapeutic Sciences (previously Radiography)
  • Nursing
  • Ophthalmic Sciences
  • Wellness Sciences

The Faculty of Applied Sciences is divided into nine departments – each with their own unique field of study.

These departments are:

  • Agriculture
  • Biotechnology and Consumer Science (with programmes in Biotechnology, and Consumer Science: Food and Nutrition)
  • Chemistry
  • Conservation and Marine Sciences
  • Environmental and Occupational Studies
  • Food Technology
  • Horticultural Sciences
  • Mathematics and Physics

The menu options to the left will give you access to these departments.

The Faculty of Business and Management Sciences is divided into 14 academic departments – each with their own unique field of study.

  • Business Administration
  • Business and Information Administration (formerly Office Management and Technology)
  • Cost and Management Accounting
  • Entrepreneurship and Business Management
  • Financial Accounting and Taxation
  • Human Resources
  • Internal Auditing
  • Project Management and Management
  • Marketing
  • Public Management
  • Real Estate
  • Retail Business Management
  • Sport Management
  • Tourism and Events Management

The faculty is also supported by three strategic units that aim to advance the academic programme and promote the faculty projects, initiatives and research:

  • Unit for Academic Advancement, Planning and Quality Assurance
  • Unit for Research and Information Advancement
  • Unit for Strategic Projects and Initiatives

The Cape Town Hotel School and Graduate Centre for Management also form part of the Business and Management Sciences Faculty’s impressive portfolio.

The Faculty of Education is divided into three academic departments:

  • General Education and Training
  • Further Education and Training
  • Teacher Professional Development

The Faculty also has a strong research component that is supported by the Department of Research and Postgraduate Studies

The Faculty of Engineering is divided into eight departments – each with their own unique field of study.

These departments are:

  • Construction Management and Quantity Surveying
  • Chemical Engineering
  • Civil Engineering & Surveying
  • Clothing & Textile Technology
  • Electrical, Electronic and Computer Engineering
  • Industrial & Systems Engineering
  • Maritime Studies
  • Mechanical Engineering