Department of Correctional Services Bursary South Africa

Department of Correctional Services Bursary South Africa


The Department of Correctional Services in South Africa is a division of the government, providing the court system and judiciary with administrative and financial matters. The department are also responsible for the correctional services in the country; provider of legal advise and representation.



Bursaries will be awarded to students in the following fields of study:

  • Bricklaying (Diploma or National Diploma)
  • Welding (Diploma or National Diploma)
  • Painting (Diploma or National Diploma)
  • Electrical (Diploma or National Diploma)
  • Primary Health Care (National Diploma or Degree)
  • Nursing (National Diploma or Degree)
  • Internal Auditing (National Diploma or Degree)
  • Information Technology (National Diploma or Degree)
  • Pharmacy (Degree)
  • Clinical Psychology (Masters)
  • Counselling Psychology (Masters)
  • Medicine (MBCHB)

Once students have completed their studies, they will be required to work for the department where needed.


Applicants must satisfy the following minimum entry criteria before applying:

  • South African citizen,
  • Currently studying or accepted to study at a recognised South African tertiary institution,
  • Currently studying or intending to study in one of the aforementioned fields of study.


Download and complete the Dept Correctional Services Bursary Application Form (pdf). Alternatively, you can download the latest application form from the official website:

The following documents must accompany your application form:

Complete application forms and supporting documents must then be submitted via post or hand-delivered, to the following addresses:
Eastern Cape
Post: Mr. SV Twani, Private Bag X9013, East London, 5200 or
Hand-deliver: Ocean View Terrace, East Block, Moore Street

Post: Ms. Sbongile Mkhuzangwe, Private Bag X393, Pretoria, 0001 or
Hand-deliver: Broll Building 1077, Corner Festival and Arcadia Street, Hatfield

Kwa-Zulu Natal
Post: Ms. Rajashree Moodley, Private Bag X9126, Pietermaritzburg, 3200 or
Hand-deliver: Eugene Maraise Road, Napierville, PMB

Limpopo/ Mpumalanga/ North West
Post: Mr. Eddie Nhlengethwa / Mr. Alfred Phahlane, Private Bag X142, Pretoria, 0001 or
Hand-deliver: Masada Building, C/n Proes and Paul Kruger Street

Northern Cape/ Free State
Post: Mr. Charles Matsapola / Ms Elsa Feder, Private Bag X20530, Bloemfontein, 9300 or
Hand-deliver: Zastron Street, 103 Agrimed Building, Bloemforntein

Western Cape
Post: Mr. FD Ngcanga, Private Bag X1, Edgemead, 7407 or
Hand-deliver: Breede River Street, Montagu Drive, Monte Vista, 7460

*Please note: application forms and documents submitted via fax, email or registered mail will NOT be accepted.


17 July annually.