Nelson Mandela Metropolitan University Graduate School

Nelson Mandela Metropolitan University Graduate School

Overview

Advertisement

NMMU wants to contribute in a positive way to your professional and personal development by offering you access to a wealth of study opportunities.

If you need to discuss your study career with somebody, please do not hesitate to contact the Office for Mature and Postgraduate Student MarketsThe main purpose of the Office is to assist you in identifying the study programme most suitable to you and to put you in contact with the right people – be it with a faculty officer, a programme coordinator, an academic expert or one of our support services.

We are also available to visit workplaces and community groups to discuss professional development opportunities by means of formal studies.

The Office is based on the first floor of the Administration Building, North Campus, Summerstrand, Port Elizabeth. Appointments Monday to Friday, from 07:30 – 16:00.

STUDY FOR PROFESSIONAL GAIN

Graduate!The journey of lifelong learning by means of further study can be a rewarding experience. Not only does it expose you to the latest trends and knowledge in your field of interest and offer you the opportunity to gain the skills necessary for the competitive world of work, but it also contributes to your sense of self-worth.

Supported by career experience, a relevant qualification gives you a competitive edge and will surely aid your promotional opportunities.

As a new generation university NMMU is dedicated to strengthen your position in the labour market through knowledge and skills development during your study years. It will also nurture and grow, to your benefit, valuable partnerships with leading role players in industry, commerce and the public sector.

We want to equip you with the means to become a creative and critical thinker who can shape the environment in which you operate.

STUDY FOR PLEASURE AND FOR PERSONAL GROWTH

Whether you consider further study merely to improve your career prospects, update your knowledge or upgrade your qualifications, it is also true that it will create an opportunity to spend time doing something you really love and to explore a subject area that has always fascinated you.

This will add a new dimension to your life – enriching it, boosting your self-confidence and sense of self-worth.

RUB SHOULDERS WITH GENERATION Y

Generation YYou may express concern about competing with the younger generation, but chances are that you will do better than them. It may also seem that the younger students are not new to the university learning environment because they are amidst their peers and geared towards the study experience.

On the contrary, younger students may perceive you as the classmate with life and work experience who is serious about their study, and may actually be intimidated by you. So, never underestimate the importance of “grey matter”!

Academic staff value the contribution adult students make to the teaching and learning environment for they are well-equipped learners bringing with them a number of skills and knowledge gained from work and other life experiences.

You may find it quite stimulating to interact with younger students and find that class dynamics change quite radically as the academic year passes. So, why then not take on the opportunity to challenge the fast-thinking Generation Y by adding the value of life and work experience to the prescribed curriculum?

WHAT DO EMPLOYERS WANT?

The voice of employers complaining that graduates do not have the precise skills that they need has become more persistent. Public and private sector leaders expect the majority of graduates to be prepared by universities to be directly employable.

How does an employer then choose the most favourable candidate for a position from hundreds of applicants all with the same qualification?

Employer surveys indicate that, apart from specialist skills and knowledge directly related to the career field, the importance of transferable and cross-cutting skills is imperative for survival and success in the competitive world of work.

These skills include, among others, the developing of:

  • Leadership and conflict resolution skills
  • Entrepreneurial skills
  • Business and project management skills
  • Networking and relationship building skills
  • Computer literacy
  • Willingness to learn
  • Resourcefulness
  • Interpersonal skills
  • Practical and logical thinking
  • Commitment

NMMU offers you the opportunity to also nurture and develop these skills and thus elevate your employability.

Position Name Telephone E-mail
Arts
Manager Jannet Nxati 0415042855 jannet.nxati@nmmu.ac.za
Faculty Administrator Nadeema Azem 0415042802 nadeema.azem@nmmu.ac.za
Faculty Administrator Mandie Muller 0415044608 mandie.muller@nmmu.ac.za
Faculty Administrator Noxolo Mngonyama 0415042855 noxolo.mngonyama@nmmu.ac.za
Faculty Administrator Chumisa Kalawe 0415043478 chumisa.kalawe@nmmu.ac.za
Business and Economic Sciences
Manager Thembeka Jonono 0415042120 thembeka.jonono@nmmu.ac.za
Manager Olivia Barclay 0415043802 olivia.barclay@nmmu.ac.za
Faculty Administrator Juliet Kakembo 0415042939 juliet.kakembo@nmmu.ac.za
Faculty Administrator Sandiswa Maswana 0415042801 sandiswa.maswana@nmmu.ac.za
Faculty Administrator Fundiswa Ngubo 0415043706 fundiswa.ngubo@nmmu.ac.za
Faculty Administrator Adanaan Smith 0415043804 adanaan.smith@nmmu.ac.za
Faculty Administrator Nomathamsanqa Bulembu 0415042248 nomathamsanqa.bulembu@nmmu.ac.za
Faculty Administrator Denistia Gert 0415043707 denistia.gert@nmmu.ac.za
Education
Manager Ridaa Salie 0415042125 Ridaa.Salie@nmmu.ac.za
Faculty Administrator Jackie Elliot-Gentry 0415044568 Jackie.Elliott-Gentry@nmmu.ac.za
Engineering, the Built Environment and Information Technology
Manager Rushda Jappie 0415043447 rushda.jappie@nmmu.ac.za
Faculty Administrator Nobathembu Ngcayisa 0415043446 nobathembu.ngcayisa@nmmu.ac.za
Faculty Administrator Nikki Terblanche 0415043660 nikki.terblanche@nmmu.ac.za
Faculty Administrator Lungiswa Thoba 0415043995 lungiswa.thoba@nmmu.ac.za
Faculty Administrator Jorinda Roets 0415043480 jorinda.roets@nmmu.ac.za
Health Sciences
Manager Nouwaal Ahmed 0415042121 nouwaal.ahmed@nmmu.ac.za
Faculty Administrator Vanessa Heunis 0415042957 vanessa.heunis@nmmu.ac.za
Faculty Administrator Marilyn Philander 0415042956 marilyn.philander@nmmu.ac.za
Law
Manager Marieta Fourie 0415042588 marieta.fourie@nmmu.ac.za
Faculty Administrator Dieketso Billie 0415042474 dieketso.mbonjwa@nmmu.ac.za
Science
Manager Zelda Slabber 0415042268 zelda.slabber@nmmu.ac.za
Faculty Administrator Fiona Heilbron 0415042249 fiona.heilbron@nmmu.ac.za
Faculty Administrator Linda Koen 0415042309 linda.koen@nmmu.ac.za
Missionvale
Manager Drucilla Blaauw 0415041130 drucilla.blaauw@nmmu.ac.za
Faculty Administrator Mandisa Mazinyo 0415041178 mandisa.mazinyo@nmmu.ac.za

As a new generation university, NMMU offers you academic, professional, as well as career-focused postgraduate programmes on various qualification levels.

POSTGRADUATE QUALIFICATIONS ARE STRUCTURED AS FOLLOWS:

  • Bachelor honours degree
  • Postgraduate diploma
  • Master’s degree (coursework)
  • Master’s degree (research)
  • Doctoral degree

BACHELOR HONOURS DEGREE

  • The bachelor honours degree is the initial postgraduate specialisation qualification, preparing students for research-based postgraduate study.
  • This qualification typically follows a bachelor’s degree, and serves to consolidate and deepen the student’s experience in a particular discipline, and to develop research capacity in the methodology and techniques of that discipline.
  • It demands a high level of theoretical engagement and intellectual independence.
  • In some cases a bachelor honours degree carries recognition by an appropriate professional or statuary body.
  • Bachelor honours degree programmes usually include conducting and reporting research under supervision, in a manner that is appropriate to the discipline or field of study. Not all honours programmes at NMMU involve conducting research, but all of them include a research methodology course as part of the coursework component.
  • Completion of a bachelor honours degree meets the minimum entry requirement of admission to a cognate Master’s degree. Entry into a master’s degree programme is usually in the area of specialisation of the bachelor honours degree. A qualification may not be awarded for early exit from a bachelor honours degree.
  • Bachelor honours programmes usually take one year of full-time study.

POSTGRADUATE DIPLOMA

  • A postgraduate diploma serves to strengthen and deepen the student’s knowledge in a particular discipline or profession.
  • The primary purpose of the qualification is to enable working professionals to undertake advanced reflection and development by means of a systematic survey of current thinking, practice ad research methods in an area of specialisation.
  • This qualification demands a high level of theoretical engagement and intellectual independence. The qualification may include conducting and reporting research under supervision.
  • Completion of a postgraduate diploma meets the minimum entry requirement for admission to a cognate master’s degree, usually in the area of specialisation of the postgraduate diploma. A qualification may not be awarded for early exit from a postgraduate diploma.
  • Postgraduate diplomas usually takes one year of full-time study.

MASTER’S DEGREE

  • The primary purposes of a master’s degree are to educate and train researchers who can contribute to the development of knowledge at an advanced level, or prepare graduates for advanced and specialised professional employment.
  • A master’s degree must have a significant research component.
  • A master’s degree may be earned in either of two ways: i) by completing a single advanced research project, culminating in the production and acceptance of a thesis, or ii) by successfully completing a coursework programme requiring a high level of theoretical engagement and intellectual independence and a research project.
  • Master’s graduates should be able to deal with complex issues both systematically and creatively, make sound judgements using data and information at their disposal and communicate their conclusions clearly to specialist and non-specialist audiences.
  • The minimum admission rerequirement is a relevant bachelor honours degree, a professional Bachelor’s degree or a postgraduate diploma.
  • Note: Professional bachelor’s degrees differs from general bachelors in the sense that they have a higher volume of learning and demands a certain level of research capabilities. Professional bachelors are often designed in consultation with a professional body and recognised and accredited by the relevant body as a prerequisite for practicing that specific profession.
  • Master’s programmes usually take a minimum of one year full-time study or two years of part-time study.

COURSEWORK MASTER’S PROGRAMMES:

  • A coursework or taught master’s programme entails theoretical modules, a research project, and in some cases practical work and an intership component.
  • Each student is expected to undertake an individual research project that forms the basis of a treatise which must be submitted in partial fulfillment of the requirements for the master’s degree.

RESEARCH MASTER’S PROGRAMMES:

  • A master’s dissertation is an advanced research project of defined scope and limited length.
  • The research work undertaken will normally be submitted in written form. However, where justified by the faculty, in certain disciplines the requirements for the research degree may be partially or fully met by means of a set of original artworks, artefacts, conceptualisations, compositions, installations, performances, and or professional exhibitions.

DOCTORAL DEGREE

  • The defining characteristic of a doctoral degree is that the candidate is required to demonstrate high-level research capability and make a significant and original academic contribution at the frontiers of a discipline or field.
  • The degree requires a candidate to undertake research at the most advanced academic level, culminating in the production, defence and acceptance of a thesis. The work must be of a quality to satisfy peer review and merit publication.
  • A qualification may not be awarded for early exit from a doctoral degree.

This degree usually requires a minimum of two years’ full time study and usually follows a master’s degree.

Contact Information

Tel: +27 (0) 41 504 1111

Fax: +27 (0) 41 504 2574 / 2731

Email: info@nmmu.ac.za

PO Box 77000, Nelson Mandela Metropolitan University

Port Elizabeth, 6031, South Africa

See more related pages here

Advertisement