University of South Africa (UNISA) College of Law

University of South Africa (UNISA) College of Law

About University of South Africa (UNISA) College of Law


Towards the leading College of Law and Justice in Africa


The College of Law provides comprehensive open distance learning in a socially responsible and distinctive manner that produces excellent scholarship and research, provides quality tuition and fosters active community engagement.

We are guided by the principles of lifelong learning, student -centredness, innovation and stakeholder engagement within the African and Global arena.


The origins of Unisa’s College of Law can also be traced back to 1873: at that time, the Board of Public Examiners was replaced by the University of the Cape of Good Hope, and the Certificates in Law and Jurisprudence offered by the Board were replaced by the University’s Certificate of Proficiency in Law and Jurisprudence and the LLB degree (Bachelor of Laws).

Schools and Departments

The College comprises of two schools; viz: School of Law (housed in the Cas van Vuuren Building on the main campus of Unisa) and School of Criminal Justice (housed in Brooklyn House in Pretoria)

The College consists of eight teaching departments (five in the School of Law and three in the School of Criminal Justice)

University of South Africa (UNISA) College of Law Schools, departments, centres & institute