Average Salary For Heart Surgeon In South Africa

A cardiothoracic surgeon is a medical doctor who specializes in surgical procedures on the heart, lungs, esophagus, and other organs in the chest. This includes surgeons who can be called cardiac surgeons, cardiovascular surgeons, general thoracic surgeons, and congenital heart surgeons.


Heart Surgeon Salary In South Africa

An early career Cardiac Surgeon with 1-4 years of experience earns an average total compensation (includes tips, bonus, and overtime pay) of R400,000 based on 11 salaries. A mid-career Cardiac Surgeon with 5-9 years of experience earns an average total compensation of R500,000 based on 10 salaries.

How many years does it take to be a surgeon?

Surgeons start their training like all other Doctors: Medical School (4-7 years) followed by the Foundation years (2 years); then core surgical training (2 years). Some specialties allow trainees to begin specialty training at ST1. Surgeons then move on to specialty training, which is a further 6 years.

How do I become a cardiologist after 12?

Earns a bachelor’s degree with MBBS after 10+2.

Get admission in PG course leading to Doctor of Medicine (MD) in general medicine.

After finishing a three-year degree of MD, go for the super specialty course of 3-year DM in Cardiology to be a Cardiologist.

What are the disadvantages of being a cardiologist?

There are drawbacks to working as a cardiologist, however. These include a significant investment in time and money for education and training. In addition, cardiologists have a high-stress job, with long hours at work and on-call. The risk of malpractice is high.

At what age do you become a cardiologist?

General/Non-Invasive cardiologists are the oldest segment with a median age of 56 years, followed by interventional cardiologists at 54 years and invasive physicians at 52. electrophysiologists are the youngest cohort with a median age of 50 years.

Where can I study to become a cardiologist in South Africa?

Sefako Makgatho Health Sciences University.

The University of Cape Town.

The University of the Free State. Premier.