Average Salary For Politicians In South Africa

A politician is a person active in party politics, or a person holding or seeking an elected seat in government. Politicians propose, support, and create laws that govern the land and, by extension, its people. Broadly speaking, a “politician” can be anyone who seeks to achieve political power in the government.


Below are salaries earned by a Politician Earn In South Africa

President Cyril Ramaphosa has approved the salaries for a number of top government and parliamentary positions.

In a gazette published on Friday (14 May), the president announced the salaries will take effect retroactively from 1 April 2020, with most senior officials receiving no increase.

This aligns with those made by the Independent Commission for the Remuneration of Public Office Bearers earlier this year.

The recommendations are based on consultations with the minister of finance, the minister of Justice, the chief justice and Lower Courts Remuneration Committee, and the Department of Cooperative Governance and Traditional Affairs.

“The commission has considered the fiscal condition of the country demonstrated in the previous financial years (2018/2019 and 2019/2020), the state’s wage bill, and the impact of Public Office Bearers’ salary increment on the fiscus and general economic status of the country which has been negatively affected by the Covid-19 pandemic, affordability of the fiscus, relevant legislation and all other factors referred to above.”

“As a result, the commission has recommended that there be no increment (0%) to the remuneration of all POBs’ categories.”

In 2020, Ramaphosa, the deputy president, and members of the cabinet took a 33% pay cut for three months as part of a contribution to South Africa’s fight against the coronavirus, donating the money to the country’s Solidarity Fund.

Deputy President, Ministers, and Deputy Ministers

Deputy PresidentR2 825 470
MinisterR2 401 633
Deputy MinisterR1 977 795

Members of the National Assembly and Delegates to the National Council of Provinces

Speaker: National AssemblyR2 825 470
Chairperson: NCOPR2 825 470
Deputy Speaker: National AssemblyR1 977 795
Deputy Chairperson: NCOPR1 977 795
House ChairpersonR1 882 488
Chief Whip: Majority PartyR1 600 467
Chief Whip: NCOPR1 600 467
Parliamentary Council: PresidentR1 600 467
Parliamentary Council: Deputy PresidentR1 600 467
Leader of OppositionR1 600 467
Chairperson of a CommitteeR1 495 755
Deputy Chief Whip: Majority PartyR1 346 232
Chief Whip: Largest Minority PartyR1 346 232
Leader of a Minority PartyR1 346 232
WhipR1 249 236
Member: National AssemblyR1 137 933
Permanent Delegate: NCOPR1 137 933

Premiers, Executive Councils, and Provincial Legislatures

PremierR2 260 409
Member of Executive CouncilR1 977 785
SpeakerR1 977 785
Deputy SpeakerR1 600 467
Chief Whip: Majority PartyR1 495 755
Chairperson of CommitteesR1 346 235
Leader of OppositionR1 346 235
Chairperson of a CommitteeR1 346 235
Deputy Chairperson of CommitteesR1 266 567
Deputy Chief Whip: Majority PartyR1 266 567
Chief Whip: Largest Minority PartyR1 266 567
Leader of a Minority PartyR1 266 567
Parliamentary Counsellor to a King/QueenR1 137 933
WhipR1 137 933
Member of Provincial LegislatureR1 101 348

How much money do you get as an MP?

The basic annual salary of a Member of Parliament (MP) in the House of Commons is R1596873.58, as of April 2020. In addition, MPs are able to claim allowances to cover the costs of running an office and employing staff, and maintaining a constituency residence or a residence in London.

Is MP salary tax-free?

Section 10(17) of the Income Tax Act, 1961 (Act) provides an exemption to Members of Parliament and State legislators in respect of their daily allowances in entirety. Hence, salary and allowances received by them cannot be taxed under the head ‘salary’, but are taxable under the head’s income from other sources.