Walter Sisulu University WSU Blackboard

Walter Sisulu University WSU Blackboard

Blackboard is Learning Platform for WSU students.

To access blackboard, visit the following link WSU BLACKBOARD LEARN

In order to use the Blackboard application on this website, you must consent to the use of cookies.

Cookies are small functions placed on your computer by the application that collect and store data that you input when you use the software. Before proceeding further, you must consent to the collection, storage, and use of this data in accordance with the Blackboard Privacy Centre, as described here:

Walter Sisulu University (WSU) is a university of technology and science located in Mthatha, Eastern Cape, South Africa, which came into existence on 1 July 2005 as a result of a merger between Border Technikon, Eastern Cape Technikon and the University of Transkei. The university is named after Walter Sisulu, a prominent figure in the struggle against apartheid.


As one of six comprehensive universities in South Africa, WSU is a developmental university, focusing on urban renewal and rural development by responding to the socio-economic needs of community, commerce and industry through science, technology and innovation.

Administration and Organisation

The university is organised by faculty:

  • Faculty of Science, Engineering and Technology
  • Faculty of Health Sciences
  • Faculty of Business, Management Sciences
  • Faculty of Education
  • Faculty of humanities, social science and law
  • Faculty of natural science

Academic programmes

The university’s 175 academic programmes are fully accredited by the Council on Higher Education which monitors higher education quality across South Africa. In addition, many of the programmes are also accredited by their respective professional bodies. The programmes are offered in:

  • Engineering
  • Science
  • Health
  • Information technology
  • Business management
  • Education
  • Fashion and art
  • Journalism and broadcasting
  • Tourism and hospitality management
  • Agriculture (in the planning stage).